34 Years: Nation continues to mourn Challenger Space Shuttle

The STS-51L crewmembers are: in the back row from left to right: Mission Specialist, Ellison S. Onizuka, Teacher in Space Participant Sharon Christa McAuliffe, Payload Specialist, Greg Jarvis and Mission Specialist, Judy Resnik. In the front row from left to right: Pilot Mike Smith, Commander, Dick Scobee and Mission Specialist, Ron McNair.

Although many students at Brown County High School are too young to remember the shuttle launches, many remember the story of the Space Shuttle Challenger.

On this day 34 years ago in 1986, Challenger blasted off from Cape Canaveral, Florida; with seven crew members onboard, including civilian elementary school teacher Christa McAuliffe. 73 seconds after liftoff on the Challenger’s tenth mission, the Shuttle exploded killing all seven crew onboard. 

On the 34th anniversary of the tragedy, the Nation still remembers the disaster; and continues to learn from the disaster that humbled the country.

You can watch footage of the catastrophic event here:

Leave a comment